days until our Collective Agreement expires, we are preparing, we are united and we will make change.

Arbitrator Gedalof Award

In October 2023, the Union and Air Canada participated in an interest arbitration before Arbitrator Eli Gedalof to determine the terms of the new Collective Agreement.

On January 23, 2024, Arbitrator Gedalof released his interest arbitration award. We are pleased to report that he awarded two proposals made by the Union and rejected all proposals made by Air Canada, except for a modest change regarding printed bid packages. The new Collective Agreement has a term of April 1, 2022 to March 31, 2025.

First, the arbitrator awarded the Union’s proposal requiring Air Canada to provide parking to all Rouge cabin personnel. The new article L55.08.07 of the Collective Agreement will require the following:

L55.08.07 At each home base or airport of the employee’s choosing, the company will provide free and safe parking for each employee. In the event of a change in parking location, the company will consult the union.

Second, the arbitrator awarded the Union’s proposal requiring Air Canada to extend the galley bid position from 777HD aircraft to all widebody aircraft. This will allow members to bid to be awarded or avoid the galley position in economy or business class on all widebody aircraft.

The Union will work with Air Canada to ensure that these changes are implemented as soon as possible.

Further, the arbitrator rejected Air Canada’s proposal to eliminate the Collective Agreement requirement for it to provide printed bid packages but instead agreed to reduce the required number of printed bid packages from 30% of members at a base to 5%.

Finally, the arbitrator rejected several concerning proposals made by Air Canada. The rejected proposals, among others, include eliminating seniority as a service director hiring requirement, weakening monthly maximum limitation (MML) protections, and removing oxygen bottles from crew rest units on long-range 777 flights.

You can read a complete copy of Arbitrator Gedalof’s interest arbitration award HERE.

In solidarity,

Your Bargaining Committee