En fait - Astuce de la semaine - Obligation d’accommodement

Il est établi à la loi depuis longtemps que les employeurs portent le fardeau principal dans l’obligation d’accommodement. C’est principalement parce qu’ils gèrent et contrôlent le lieu de travail, et ils ont la capacité légale de prendre bon nombre des décisions nécessaires pour assurer le succès d’une demande d’accommodement. Toutefois, les syndicats et les employés assument également des fonctions et des responsabilités, comme la Cour suprême du Canada l’a établi dans son jugement de 1992, central Okanagan School District No. 23 c. Renaud [1992] 2 S.C.R. 970. Les syndicats ont généralement la responsabilité de faciliter raisonnablement le processus d’adaptation. Les employés ont la responsabilité de s’adapter eux-mêmes.

En d’autres termes, il y a trois acteurs dans un scénario où l’on cherche un accommodement : l’employeur, le syndicat et l’employé. Bien que l’employeur et le syndicat aient leur propre rôle à jouer, il est important que les employés comprennent quelles sont les responsabilités qu’ils ont en facilitant leurs propres demandes d’accommodement.

L’accommodement peut souvent être très individuel et spécifique aux faits, et le syndicat est là pour vous aider à comprendre le processus. Si vous cherchez ou avez cherché un accommodement et que vous vous demandez quelles pourraient être vos responsabilités, ou si vous êtes curieux de connaître les recommandations concernant les meilleures pratiques, veuillez consulter votre section locale pour obtenir des conseils.

days until our Collective Agreement expires, we are preparing, we are united and we will make change.

As A Matter Of Fact – Tip Of The Week – Duty to Accommodate

It is long settled law that employers bear the primary onus in the duty to accommodate. This is primarily because they manage and control the workplace, and they have the legal capacity to make many of the necessary decisions to ensure the success of an accommodation request. However, unions and employees also bear duties and responsibilities as well, as the Supreme Court of Canada established in its 1992 judgement, Central Okanagan School District No. 23 v. Renaud [1992] 2 S.C.R. 970. Unions generally have a responsibility to reasonably facilitate the accommodations process. Employees have a responsibility to self-accommodate.

Put simply, there are three actors in a scenario in which accommodation is being sought: the employer, the union, and the employee. Although the employer and the union have their own roles to play, it is important that employees understand what responsibilities they have in facilitating their own accommodation requests.

Accommodation can often be very individual and fact-specific, and the Union is here for you to help you understand the process. If you are seeking or have sought accommodation and are wondering what your responsibilities might be, or if you are curious about recommendations for best practices, please reach out to your Union Local for guidance.

Related News

EAP Update – July 2024

Hello, In this July edition of our EAP bulletin, we are embracing the buzz of being present and involved with open arms. Our VIP’s or

Read More »

Binding Arbitration

As you may have seen on the news, the federal labour Minister Seamus O’Regan directed the Canadian Industrial Relations Board (CIRB) to impose final binding

Read More »