Excédent de personnel - Février 2021

La Compagnie nous a informés ce matin d'un surplus de personnel en raison d'un horaire de vol considérablement réduit lié à une réduction de la demande des clients. Le surplus approximatif est de 730 membres actifs de l’exploitation principale et de 100 membres actifs de la Rouge. Les réductions d'effectifs entreront en vigueur au début du mois de février 2021.

Le syndicat travaille maintenant avec la société pour lancer un programme d'atténuation à la fois à l’exploitation principale et à Rouge, semblable à ce qui était offert au printemps. Nous avons proposé que tous les membres soient placés sous le SCAR, car la mise à pied prévue doit être inférieure à six (6) mois. Nous avons également demandé qu'un programme de blocs réduits soit lancé à Rouge. Plus de détails sur l'atténuation seront publiés une fois convenus.

Les mises à pied qui en résulteront auront lieu dans l'ordre d'ancienneté inversé dans chaque compagnie. Comme la durée prévue de la mise à pied est inférieure à six (6) mois, il n'y aura pas de supplantation entre les entreprises puisque l'article 17.11.01 s'appliquera.

Les employés ayant déjà obtenu un SLOA / RBP pour le mois de février seront contactés individuellement et informés que ce programme est maintenant annulé. Ils seront plutôt redirigés vers le programme d'atténuation une fois lancé.

Nous comprenons que cette nouvelle est décourageante et non ce que quiconque voulait entendre; Cependant, notre industrie fait face à une autre baisse sans précédent de la demande de la clientèle et nous continuerons de faire de notre mieux pour soutenir nos membres pendant cette période difficile.

Solidairement,

days until our Collective Agreement expires, we are preparing, we are united and we will make change.

Staff Surplus – February 2021

The Company advised us this morning of a staffing surplus due to a significantly reduced flying schedule related to a reduction in customer demand. The approximate surplus is 730 active mainline members and 100 active Rouge members. The staff reductions will take effect with the start of the February 2021 block month.

The Union is now working with the Company to launch a mitigation program at both Mainline and Rouge, similar to what was offered in the Spring. We have proposed that all members be placed on CEWS as the anticipated layoff is to be less than six (6) months. We have also requested that a reduced block program be launched at Rouge. More details on mitigation will be released once agreed upon.

The resulting layoffs will take place in reverse seniority order at each Company. As the anticipated duration of the layoff is less than six (6) months, there will be no bumping between Companies as Article 17.11.01 will apply.

Employees already awarded a SLOA/RBP for the month of February will be contacted individually and advised that this program is now cancelled. They will be redirected towards the mitigation program instead once launched.

We understand this news is disheartening and not what anyone wanted to hear; however, our industry is facing yet another unpreceded drop in customer demand and we will continue to do our best to support our members through this difficult time.

In solidarity,

Related News

Pay Committee Update

Last month we advised you of the newly created Pay Committee which is overseen by the Component President and is available to review your pay

Read More »

2025 Bargaining Team

The Air Canada Component of CUPE would like to take the time to introduce some of the people that will going to the bargaining table

Read More »